Old Historical City, County and State

Maps of Rhode Island

Discover the past of Rhode Island through State maps in our online collection of old historical maps that span over 400 years of growth. View Rhode Island Maps such as historical county boundaries changes, as well as old vintage maps.

Maps of Rhode Island

Home » Maps of Rhode Island

Any old historical map of Rhode Island can be very useful in conducting research, especially in light of the now extinct communities. Several kinds of maps are available which can help in locating land, ghost towns, or farms. Most historical maps of Rhode Island were published in atlases.

Old Rhode Island Maps can indicate who owned specific property in the state and which towns held the county seat at the time.  This information is a valuable starting point for your research pointing you to the right location of records. Several types of maps are useful for genealogists.

Tracing the history of early families in Rhode Island is much easier if the researcher has an understanding of the types Rhode Island gazetteers and maps.

The Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations was established in 1636. It was Chartered as an English colony in 1644. The Colony of Rhode Island was Disestablished in 1776. The State of Rhode Island was admitted the union as the 13th state on May 29, 1790. Rhode Island currently has 5 Counties.

States bordering Rhode Island are Connecticut  and Massachusetts. The 10 largest cities in Rhode Island are Providence (Capital), Warwick, Cranston, Pawtucket, East Providence, Woonsocket, Newport and Central Falls.

Old Historical Atlas Maps of Rhode Island

This Historical Rhode Island Map Collection are from original copies so you can see Rhode Island as our ancestors saw them over a 300 years ago.

Some Rhode Island map years (not all) have cities, railroads, P.O. locations, township outlines and other features useful to the Rhode Island researcher.

External Tennessee Map Links

Map of Rhode Island County Formations 1643-1963

Map of Rhode Island County Boundaries and County Seats

Map of Rhode Island County Boundaries and County Seats

This Interactive Map of Rhode Island Counties show the historical boundaries, names, organization, and attachments of every county, extinct county and unsuccessful county proposal from 1643 to 1963.

Rhode Island contains 5 counties.

In 1703 the first Rhode Island counties were formed. They were Providence County and Newport County.

The last county to be formed was Kent County in 1750.


Rhode Island County Map Formation by Year

Rhode Island Map Abbreviations

  1. unorg. = unorganized
  2. g. = gained
  3. w. = with
  4. fr. = from
  5. atmt. = attachment
  6. exch = exchanged
  7. nca.= non county area
  8. ch. = changed
  1. Pr  - Providence
  2. Wa - Washington
  3. Br - Bristol
  4. Knt - Kent
  5. Ne - Newport

Support & Feature Suggestions

10 + 5 =

Send this to a friend