Old Historical State, County and City Maps of New Mexico

Maps of New Mexico

Home » Maps of New Mexico

Any old historical map of New Mexico can be very useful in conducting research, especially in light of the now extinct communities. Several kinds of maps are available which can help in locating land, ghost towns, or farms. Most historical maps of New Mexico were published in atlases.

Old New Mexico Maps can indicate who owned specific property in the state and which towns held the county seat at the time.  This information is a valuable starting point for your research pointing you to the right location of records. Several types of maps are useful for genealogists.

Tracing the history of early families in New Mexico is much easier if the researcher has an understanding of the types New Mexico gazetteers and maps.

Sometime between 1540 and 1542 a Spanish explorer by the name of Francisco Vasquez de Coronado came to what later turned into New Mexico. He was looking for gold in the area.

However, it wasn’t until 1698 that a Spanish settlement was created by the Rio Grande River. Juan de Onate established that settlement.

1857 Map of New Mexico and Utah Territories
  • Save

1857 Map of New Mexico and Utah Territories

Then, in 1610, New Mexico’s capital, Santa Fe, was established. Most of New Mexico became United States property because of the Mexican War, in 1848. However, some of it wasn’t acquired until 1853, when it was included as part of the Gadsden Purchase.

New Mexico was organized as territory on September 9, 1850 and was admitted the union as the 47th state on Jan. 6, 1912. New Mexico currently has 33 Counties.

States bordering New Mexico are ArizonaColoradoOklahomaTexas and Utah.  The 10 largest cities in New Mexico are Albuquerque, Las Cruces, Santa Fe, Rio Rancho, Roswell, Farmington, Clovis, Hobbs, Alamogordo and Carlsbad.

Map of New Mexico County Formations 1845-1981

This Interactive Map of New Mexico Counties show the historical boundaries, names, organization, and attachments of every county, extinct county and unsuccessful county proposal from 1845 to 1981.

New Mexico contains 33 counties. In 1852 the first New Mexico counties were formed. The last county to be formed was Cibola County in 1981.

New Mexico County Map Formation by Year

New Mexico Map Abbreviations

  1. unorg. = unorganized
  2. g. = gained
  3. w. = with
  4. fr. = from
  5. atmt. = attachment
  6. exch = exchanged
  7. nca.= non county area
  8. ch. = changed
  9. Be – Bernalillo Co.
  10. Ca – Catron Co.
  11. Ch – Chaves Co.
  12. Ci – Cibola Co.
  13. Co – Colfax Co.
  14. Cu – Curry Co.

  1. DA – Dona Ana Co.
  2. DB – De Baca Co.
  3. Ed – Eddy Co.
  4. Gr – Grant Co.
  5. Gu – Guadalupe Co.
  6. Ha – Harding Co.
  7. Hi – Hidalgo Co.
  8. LA – Los Alamos Co.
  9. Lea – Lea Co.
  10. Li – Lincoln Co.
  11. Lu – Luna Co.
  12. McK – McKinley Co.
  13. Mo – Mora Co.
  14. Ot – Otero Co.

Old Historical Atlas Maps of New Mexico

This Historical New Mexico Map Collection are from original copies so you can see New Mexico as our ancestors saw them over a hundred years ago. Some New Mexico map years (not all) have cities, railroads, P.O. locations, township outlines and other features useful to the New Mexico researcher.

  • 1857 Map of New Mexico and Utah (and Nevada and Arizona) - This map shows settlements and routes of exploration including proposed railroad routes. Long's Peak, San Francisco Mountain, Sierra Sacramento, Sierra De San Juan, Aztec Mountain, Llano Estacado, Orstaked Plain, Platte River, Grand River, Rio Gila, Rio Colorado, Bill Williams Creek, St. Vrains Fort, and Pikes Stockade.
    The following towns are featured in this map: Parowan, Ogden, Great Salt Lake City, Taos, Fort Union, San Pedro, Donna Anna, San Antonio, Sante Fe, and Valencia.
  • 1893 Map of New Mexico - from the Columbian World's Fair Atlas by E.B. Rathbun. The map is shown with original factory coloring and outlining. It was published as a special edition in the Midwestern United States to commemorate the Chicago World's Fair; The World's Columbian Exposition of 1893, in celebration of Christopher Columbus' 400th anniversary. The fair itself was notable for the first appearance of the ferris wheel and the hamburger, among other inventions and presentations. It was published in Otego, New York. Red lines separate counties, which are also clearly labeled.
    The following towns are featured in this map: Deming, Las Cruces, Rincon, Silver City, Ruidoso, Roswell, Socorro, Los Lunas, Santa Fe, Albuquerque, and Las Vegas. Tennessee (sic) named above beside Georgia. Mis-named swamp in northern Florida.

External New Mexico Map Links

  • 1845 Map of the Indian Territory, northern Texas and New Mexico - by Sidney E. Morse and Samuel Breese. Shows towns, Indian villages, forts and fortifications, rivers, ranchos, springs, sandy regions, etc. Covers part of Kansas, Colorado, Oklahoma, and Missouri.
  • 1874 Map of New Mexico - Asher & Adams' New Mexico. Entered according to Act of Congress in the year 1873. Shows townships, etc. Includes inset map: Southern portion of New Mexico. Prime meridians: Greenwich and Washington.

New Mexico County Map of Road and Highway's

The New Mexico D.O.T. Highway Department does not have New Mexico County Map available at this time.

  • Save
Share via
25 Shares 30 views