Old Historical State, County and City Maps of Delaware

Maps of Delaware

Home » Maps of Delaware

Our collection of old historical Delaware maps span over 200 years of growth. Most historical maps of Delaware were published in atlases. The State of Delaware was created as the 1st state on December 7, 1787.

In 1609, a Dutch explorer named Henry Hudson discovered Delaware. In 1610, Delaware was named by Captain Samuel Argall. He named it after Thomas West, Baron De La Warr, who was the governor of the colony at the time. In 1631, the Dutch attempt to settle the region failed.

Then, in 1638, New Sweden was founded by the Swedish where Wilmington now stands. However, Peter Stuyvesant, governor of New Netherlands, led troops that took it over in 1655. In 1664, the area again changed hands when William Penn took over the Lower Three Counties in 1682 for Great Britain. Delaware fought as a state during the Revolutionary War.

Old 1814 Map of Delaware

Old 1814 Map of Delaware

Then, in 1787, it was the very first state to ratify the United States Constitution. Delaware was considered to be a slave state when the Civil War was fought. However, unlike several other slave states, it didn’t officially secede from the United States during the conflict.

Delaware entered the union as the 1st state on December 7, 1787. It has 3 Counties.

States bordering Delaware are are Maryland, New Jersey and Pennsylvania. Delaware’s 10 largest cities are Wilmington, Dover, Newark, Middletown, Smyrna, Milford, Seaford, Georgetown, Elsmere and New Castle.

Several types of maps are useful for genealogists. Within the atlases are historical maps, illustrations, and histories many of which contain family names ideal for genealogical research, while Others are rare antique maps dating back to the early exploration of the state.

Any Historical Delaware Map can indicate who owned specific property in the state and which towns held the county seat at the time. This information is a valuable starting point for your research pointing you to the right location of records.

Map of Delaware County Formations 1673-1841

This Interactive Map of Delaware Counties show the historical boundaries, names, organization, and attachments of every county, extinct county and unsuccessful county proposal from the creation of Delaware in 1673-1841.

Delaware contains 3 counties.

The divisions, or “hundreds” as they are called, comes from the times when Delaware and Maryland were colonial holdings of Great Britain. While Delaware alone retains the use of “hundreds”, the origin of most “place names” in both states can be traced back to the times of British rule.

Delaware County Map Formation by Year

Delaware Map Abbreviations

  1. unorg. = unorganized
  2. g. = gained
  3. w. = with
  4. fr. = from
  5. atmt. = attachment
  6. exch = exchanged
  7. nca.= non county area
  8. ch. = changed
  9. Ke – Kent
  10. NC – New Castle
  11. Su – Sussex

Old Historical Atlas Maps of Delaware

This Historical Delaware Map Collection are from original copies so you can see Georgia as our ancestors saw them over a hundred years ago.

Some Delaware map years (not all) have cities, railroads, P.O. locations, township outlines and other features useful to the Georgia researcher.

External Delaware Map Links

Delaware County Map of Road and Highway's

The Delaware D.O.T. Highway Department does not have Delaware County Map available at this time.

Delaware Road Maps - Presented as Part of DelDOT's Historic Preservation

Send this to a friend